Wenzhou 温州

2019-01-03 14:06:39 source: WENZHOU.GOV.CN


Wenzhou (simplified Chinese: 温州; traditional Chinese: 溫州; pinyin: Wēnzhōu; formerly Yongjia, Yung-chia) is a prefecture-level city in southeastern Zhejiang province, People's Republic of China.

It borders Lishui to the west, Taizhou to the north, and looks out to the East China Sea on its eastern coast.With a total population of 7,388,100, Wenzhou administers four districts (Lucheng District, Longwan District, Ouhai District and Dongtou District), two county-level cities (Ruian City and Yueqing City), and five counties (Yongjia, Pingyang, Cangnan, Wencheng, and Taishun).

Wenzhou was a prosperous foreign treaty port, which remains well-preserved today. It is situated in a mountainous region and, as a result, has been isolated for most of its history from the rest of the country, making the local culture and language very different from those of neighbouring areas. It is also known for its emigrants who leave their native land for Europe and the United States, with a reputation for being enterprising natives who start restaurants, retail and wholesale businesses in their adopted countries.

read more